Downy woodpecker

I had just scattered a handful of peanut chips on one of my "bird buffets" when this female downy landed right in front of me and grabbed a peanut. She looks justifiably proud of herself for mixing it up with the more numerous chickadees, titmice, and nuthatches.

I spread the "buffets" on tree stumps and on the back of the benches that are located at intervals along the trails that I walk. Many times, as I approach one of these benches or stumps, I notice that the little birds are gathering in the trees above me. They sometimes follow me down the trail from tree to tree until I stop and scatter the peanuts. Today 20 or so bright red male cardinals, and the more subdued females, joined me as I walked back to my car. They clustered in the last tree on the trail, reminding me of brightly colored ornaments on a Christmas tree.

Thanks to all of you who left comments on my titmouse blip yesterday. I get a big charge out of the little titmice, so I am glad so many of you also enjoy them. With their punk hair style, they have great entertainment value!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.