Savor the Moment

By Melissawall

Second visit

This was the second time my little boy Erik has been inside the walls of Northwest community hospital.
The first... His birth.
The second... To visit his Banka (grandpa)

Yesterday my dad underwent surgery to remove the cancer from his body.
Today my little boy Erik entered with wide eyes wanting to learn everything about his new surrounding.
"Banka what are you doing?"
"what's this for Banka?"

As nurses and doctors wove in and out of the room their faces lit up when they saw Erik in his glowing self confident two year old style.
After an hour of visiting with dad, jackets were adorned and kisses were graced on cheeks. Yet Erik wanted Banka to come with us. "come Banka."

My strong dad rose to his feet and took Erik's little hand into his and together they walked to the elevators to take us to our cars as my dad turned round for his place of slumber.

I'm thankful for this place of care. For nurses who laugh with us and share their story and who show grace and joy to my dad. For doctors who don't rush and come on lunch breaks to check in on my dad.
I'm thankful for my little boy who loves his Banka so very much that he always wants him to be along on the journey.
Erik's second visit.. A good one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.