Furnace Lass

By furnacelass

Brenchoille Bridge

Today was a horrible day weatherwise, poured all day long. However I decide to go out in the rain , waterproofs, brolly camera bag and tripod in the car.

I also had a waterproof rucksack cover over my camera rucksack to test its waterproofing qualities having got all my camera equipment including camera manual , soaked last November . Quite annoying really as it was supposed to be waterproof and , on contacting the makers was informed this particular one was the only one in their range which did not have a separate waterproof cover. This was not a cheap make so I was not a happy camper . Any way I was in Oban a few days ago and spotted the very thing , not in a camera shop but a charity shop. Very pleased to report it worked a treat today, got back with everything bone dry, except me off course.

I headed toDunderave Castle on Loch Fyne hoping for an atmospheric , misty moody shot . Nothing doing, yes there was mist over the hills behind the castle but the sky above had absolutely no detail , not even a grad filter could bring anything out.
So off to the historic bridge at Brenchoille over the River Leacainn, built in the late 1800s. Apparently a copy of the bridge at Inveraray built in 1773.

Because of the same problems with the sky I had the tripod low near the water's edge and tilted downwards to exlude the sky. All this with a brolly held over the camera .
So hope you like the shot tonight as it was a big effort to get it..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.