just allan

By allan

For Blip's Sake

Female mallard on the Water of Leith, Edinburgh. This is about the first shot I took today, out for a walk and hoping to see the goosander I saw a couple of weeks ago. No goosander so when I found these ducks I stood for a while, watching the ducks doing duck stuff. Ducks, let me tell you, don't do much. I've spent a fair bit of time watching various Little Brown Jobs like sparrows in the garden, dunlin on the shore and finches in hedgerows, all of which are quick, nervy and active. These ducks very occasionally stretched their wings. Then did nothing. They preen a lot. They dabble for food. They prance about in couples. They stand on one leg and sleep. Repeat.

So, a blip for blip's sake which nevertheless says a lot about my day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.