Fisherking

By Fisherking

....get this party started....

As we approach the end of a really strange half term.... a night out arranged for the staff.

At one of the best pubs in town. I've been there many times with the Quiz team.

It's a free house and usually has a range of about 8 different bitters, two or three milds and half a dozen lagers. One evening the Boss and I got quietly puddled on a marvellous raspberry blonde beer. Drinking raspberry flavoured beer is something every one should experience once, especially when it's a 5.3% beer.

And the food.....amazing....they hosted the final of the Quiz Knock-out Cup last year and put on a buffet like you wouldn't believe, Indian,/Chinese/ Mexican/ English savoury food, pizzas and chips....and enough to feed an army.

So why am I not turning cart wheels?

Because I won't be there, third staff do in a row that I've missed...last summer, Christmas and now this. How can this be?, I hear you cry. Who is responsible?

It's the surgeon who's performing my dad's carpal tunnel operation.Having cancelled at the last minute a month or so ago, he tried to be helpful by re-arranging for my half -term break.....only he didn't quite get it right and booked Dad in a week too early...on the 18th instead of the 25th.

So while hebs and the rest of my colleagues are eating the finest food and drinking the finest beer, I'll be 120 miles awaytrying to sort out what to make for Dad's tea that he can eat without too much strain for his right wrist.

Curses!

Still shouldn't complain, at least I'll have had a day off work and worse things happen at sea....or so they say.

C'est la vie!

Das vidanya.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.