Fisherking

By Fisherking

...Take my hand tonight....

I was scrabbling for a blip tonight, when I clicked on notifications and came across the body parts challenge.

"That'll do, I've got lots of them!" I thought.

But how to make it interesting?

I thought I might do an ear, then I could fit in my favourite Star Trek joke. You know the one....sure you do...."How many ears does Mr. Spock have?"...."Three"....."A left ear, a right ear and Space the final front ear!"

Do you have any idea how hard it is to shoot your own ear when you haven't got a tripod? So that went out the window.

So then I thought...... a foot.... I could throw in a few jokes like...." It's a foot, 12 inches, but I don't use it as a rule!" or What's afoot Holmes? About 12 inches Watson!"

The Boss took one look and said " You're not going to put that on the web are you. Is it Horror pictures tonight?" So that went out the window.


So.... I turned to hands " Where are the Andes....on the end of my armies"
The Boss said " Stop trying to be clever, just shoot the hand and get on with it"


So here it is, my right hand. I've had it a long time....what have I done with it?
Keep it clean, keep it clean!!!!

Held the Boss's hand with it.

Dislocated the thumb playing volleyball.

Carressed the Boss's cheek with it, and my two children's cheeks (when they were babies, they wouldn't let me do it now).

Dropped flowers into my Mum's grave.

Signed my name umpteen times.

Smoked with it.

Raised one or two glasses of alcohol in my time.

Held a European Eagle Owl.

Caught a cricket ball.

Thrown a punch or two (purely in self defence)

Picked flowers.

Cooked.

Stroked the Boss's hair.

Helped people up over things.

Knocked in nails.

Held a fishing rod.

Pulled a rope.

Rowed a boat.

The list goes on and on.

Wonder what my left hand was doing while all this was going on?

And before you ask, the bracelet isn't a fashion statement, or my feminine side coming out (I haven't got one). It's a magnetic bracelet I bought 5 or 6 years ago when I was suffering from tennis elbow. It cost me £65 and it was worth every penny, from the second I put it on I could feel my arm tingle, a month later the pain was gone and it's never come back! I don't know how/why it works, as a biologist I know the magnets, no matter how powerful, can't possibly attract all the iron in my blood (and a good job too) all I know is it works...and that's good enough for me.

Das vidanya my friends.

p.s. Snowysel just reminded me, it's shaken hands with lots of people including, George Best, Bobby Charlton,Amir Khan, Steve Parry, Victoria Pendleton (my favourite)two astronauts,Tanni Grey-Thompson, Ian Thorpe, Kelly Holmes and dozens of other athletes at Manchester 2002 Commonwealth Games,Alan Bennett, Su Pollard,David Dimbleby, Ed Balls, the list goes on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.