Moments

By togrrrl

Winter Busker

On my way to work this morning I stopped to take pictures of the sun shining through bucket size ice cubes stacked beside an ice sculpture.

As I leaned down, dressed in my corporate clothes, squinting through the viewfinder, squatting in a very undignified photographer's position, I heard a voice say "hello...?"

I looked up and saw this man, the ice sculptor himself. He looked a little curious but appreciative of the light shining through the ice when he saw what I was looking at.

"Can I take a picture of you through the ice?"

"What?"

"Yes, get on the other side of the ice and I'll take your picture!"

He bent down and grinned at me through the ice. I took very blurry, unrecognizable pictures of him.

"I have a better idea. Let me just take your picture the regular way!"

"Sure!" and he smiled his great smile.

I didn't get his name but he is from Newfoundland and he's carving ice for tips. He calls it winter busking.

What a happy way to start my day.

After work I met J for dinner and drawing. I felt moments of flow where my hand just drew and the image caught some of what I saw. I wish I was better at it though.

Now, it's late. I have the morning off tomorrow so I will have time to catch up with everyone then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.