Moments

By togrrrl

My backyard

K had to go to the doctor today (he's ok) so I took most of the day off to take care of him. We had some wonderful conversations, I took a long nap in the middle of the day and watched the light move across the yard.

Nature Notes

Being at home is so lovely. I couldn't help spending some time looking at the birds in my backyard.

Our wild rose bush is the daytime home for the local sparrow flock and it's so much fun to see them as they squabble, preen, eat snow and sleep. Every once and a while they go into a mating frenzy -- a group of males start chirping loudly and hopping around one of the females. It must be fun to be a female sparrow :)

I saw a male house finch singing very quietly in the lilac bush, practicing for his upcoming battles for a mate and nesting site.

I realize more and more that web of nature is a web of time as well as place. The rhythm of each species meshes with the others and the seasons are a continuum.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.