memories

Let me start by saying hat this has been the most difficult entry I've ever made. Some of this I haven't been able to talk about until now and even now it hurts!

So this is a frame from my most favorite movie of all time. A masterpiece by Wim Wenters called The Wings of Desire or the real title being "Der Himmel über Berlin" (and the best one as well in my opinion). I love this movie. This is not only because it is a great work but also because of my parents. They were both immigrants from Greece to Germany in the early 60's. There they met and got married and even my brother was born in Germany. I was raised at en early age in Germany before we moved to Greece and even afterwards we still made frequent visits to friends in Germany. Even now one of my mother's best friend is a German lady, Frau Richter. Every Sunday at a specific time my mother has either a phone call from her or she calls her. So German has always been a big part of my life and a language I truly love, I can speak and understand a some of it.

A bit more than a year and a half ago, I refuse to acknowledge the day, my father passed away. This was as a result of a very serious disease, a mixture of Parkinson and Alzheimer which within a year had rapidly deteriorated the condition of my father to the point that it was difficult to communicate with him! So hearing the language from the movie once more brings back all those memories. I am trying to stay on the good ones before the disease got hold of him but it is too difficult!

I am very sorry for this truly sad entry, please forgive me!

Hope you all have a great weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.