Back again

It's only four weeks since I had my first visit to my new GP, and a lot has happened since then. The difference between him and my previous guy is quite extraordinary. He gave me two referral letters, one to a urologist, and the other to the cardiologist who did my angiogram back in May 2009. I got word on Monday that I had an appointment today with the urologist, and then this morning word arrived in the post confirming an appointment with the caridologist on the 28th. That's more like it: vastly better than the three-month wait to see the cardiologist originally, all because my previous GP didn't convey any sense of urgency.

My appointment today was for 11.50 am (a strangely precise time, I thought). I expected to have to wait for anything up to an hour to actually see the consultant, and my prior expectation was reinforced when I saw the number of people in the waiting area at the clinic. As it happened, I was called in within ten minutes. The urologist was pleasant and informative. He was concerned about how bad the PSA number was which had come back from the blood test, put me down for a biopsy, send me off right away for a flow test and another blood test, and told me to make an appointment to see him again in six weeks. His nursing assistant did her best to reassure me afterwards, but things weren't helped when she handed me an informative booklet about the PSA test, a booklet which just happens to be published by the Irish Cancer Society.

Anyway, the consulatnt had already told me that nothing definite could be known until the biopsy was done (though he did say my prostate appeared to be abnormal). All I can do for the time being is wait for the biopsy result and my next meeting with the consultant. Only then can decisions be made about the future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.