Hospital arrivals

It feels as if I'm living in Beaumont Hospital these days. First there was the blood test ten days ago, then the appointment with the dietician and the stress test the following day. Now, this morning, it was time to have a heart monitor fitted. The cardiac rehab nurses certainly didn't waste any time setting this up. I'd been for the stress test on Tuesday, and notification of today's monitor fitting arrived in the post the next day (I phoned to query this and was told it had been asked for by one of the rehab nurses, who felt I might as well get this done before beginning the rehab programme on the 22nd rather than wait until the sessions begin).

I walked to and from the hospital, got the monitor (a 24-hour job, like an always-running portable ECG), sheltered from a couple of hail showers when I left, and have taken it easy since. Well, that's not really accurate, since it sounds as if I'm deliberately behaving otherwise than I normally would, which would defeat the whole purpose of the monitor. There's a diary element involved, and I'm supposed to keep track of what I'm up to, so that changing activity can be related to the read-out from the monitor. (Activities listed as examples of entries are "sitting, walking, strenuous exercise, eating, smoking, urinating, bowel movements, sexual intercourse, taking medication.")

The blip was taken just as I left the hospital. It may have been the hail shower which was responsible for the sudden increase in pedestrian traffic rushing to get inside. Whatever was responsible, I was just taking a couple of general blips (remembering my time here back in June while waiting to be transferred for my bypass) when I caught movement out of the corner of my eye. This pair weren't able to both fit on the same side of the canopy support, which struck me as interesting, so I swung around and clicked as they came towards me. Not the sharpest, but it turned out to be the best shot of the day.

I've finally back-blipped Saturday, Sunday and yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.