BernardYoung

By BernardYoung

Grumpy

I Can See A Grumpy Face

I can see a grumpy face.
It isn't very pleasant.

It's not the sort of face
I'd give to anyone
as a present.

I'd like to put it
in a rocket
and send it into outer space.

Leave it up there
to grimace
and glower for several hours.

But I wouldn't want
that grumpy old face
to put all the stars out
and turn the moon sour

so I'd cut short
its high altitude interlude
and bring it back
to earth.

Perhaps, by then,
its bad mood
would have cleared off.

It's either that or

stop looking in the mirror.



From Brilliant by Bernard Young, Kingston Press, 2000. Copyright Bernard Young.
Illustration by Tod Leedale.


To blip or not today? Originally I thought not but... This photographing my books trick is my equivalent of an emergency blip. Going off a bit later with some women - shopping, theatre, eating and who knows what if I'm lucky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.