The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Caen Hill Locks

Time for a landscape, and a canal.

Having found the official car park too full, and angered once more by the calming speed humps on the lane to and from it, I parked in my normal spot in a lay-by on Marsh Lane, intending to walk up the Kennet and Avon Canal towpath to the meeting point for the final Caen Hill Lock Flights Winter Works Open Day guided tour, only to find the access points had been closed.

By the time I had re-parked a second time, now in Dundas Lane, and arrived at the rendezvous point, I could see that although the tour had only just begun, the towpath had been closed behind the group - leaving me free to set my own itinerary in the opposite direction. The Caen Hill Café was there nestling between two side pounds, and coots, tufted duck, mallard and a pair of swans were all doing their thing.

I walked slowly up as far as the next road bridge (where the Black Horse was having a major renovation) and back, taking pictures. This shot was taken as I made my way there, looking back, with the café to the right, on what seems to have been the site of the old British Water Board boatyard.

Lens: Sigma 70-300mm

Alternatives:
Crane and Locks
Reflections
Canal Side Pound (Pentax 12-24mm)
Old Is Better Than New - True Fact

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.