Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Starbucks Fling

Success at last with the gallery viewer. Lightbox 2 may not have all the bells and whistles of some of the latest ones but it works and does exactly what I want a gallery viewer to do.

I have posted two albums on Tea With Calvin, featuring the Ricoh GRD III, one b&w; one colour. Check them out. Some of the shots are old blips but others are making their debut.

On a bright but cool day, we headed to Starbucks on Margaret Street, Riverside, for afternoon coffee with my mother-in-law. I left them chatting and working the crossword puzzle and went for a walk round with my camera.

A wedding was being held in Memorial Park, I took a few shots. The best shot -- a large tatto of a butterfly on the bride's back, somehow at odds with the white wedding dress and veil, went untaken because I don't have a zoom lens on my compact camera. But the number of shots I see that would merit a 28-300mm lens are few and far between and would not justify the expense even if I could afford it.

In the end, it was the shots I fired off when I returned to Starbucks that appealed most of all and this woman caught as if practising Scottish dancing, hence the title of the shot, was the pick of the bunch.

B&W conversion with Silver Efex Pro in Photoshop CS3.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.