just allan

By allan

Night Lights

Night riding in John Muir Forest, East Lothian. I didn't get out until the end of the day, when I took off for the beach and woods as the was sun setting. This is on the way home, in the middle of the woods. My Hope Vision 1 light did its usual excellent job of lighting my way. For 'proper' night riding I'd wear a helmet light as well, but this was just a quick run through a pretty flat forest.

I got a load of nice sunset photos that are on Flickr. I was going to use one of those, but I've done sunsets, there will be others, and it's getting lighter so there won't be many night rides coming up. Oh, apart from the Full Moon ride Mark's organising on Friday. So maybe another night time picture on Friday!

Today I had Katie, planning to go to Jasiu's birthday party in Edinburgh, travelling by train with all her little friends. But poor Katie was wiped out with a cold or flu and just slept all day. She perked up at one point and wanted to go, but it was too late by then. Poor sausage, she had a rubbish time of it today.

And talking of rubbish, I cleared up the tropical palm leaves that had blown into our garden and weaved a rough mat out of them. No reason other than I thought it might be interesting and it's not too bad for a first attempt. Here's a picture. Just goes to show how difficult it is to make proper art in this way, looking geometrically correct as well as natural. My attempt is really scrappy compared to the beautiful willow sculpture work of Lizzie Farey which delighted Duncan, Katie and me when we visited the City Art Centre recently. I blipped Katie's cake that day, you're not allowed to take pictures of the exhibits!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.