nogbad's blips

By nogbad

Elmley

Elmley is the name of an area of marshland on the south of the isle of Sheppey where the river Swale cuts the island off from the north coast of Kent. The Elmley Marshes are a nature reserve and a bird reserve managed by the Elmley Conservation Trust; today is my first visit and it's wonderful.

I saw a couple of Marsh Harriers which were spooking the wigeons and pintails. I saw a stoat but it ran across the path as I was changing lenses so I didn't grab it and I only got one shot of the geese in flight as they flew too close for the long lens and then headed into the sun. There were a couple of pairs of swans but this one is my favourite. I think it's crispest and I like the ground behind and the stubble in the foreground.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.