middleman

By middleman

Ornithology

Sleet, rain, snow, mist, thick fog - the morning had it all. We pottered, we drank coffee, we watched the birds on our balcony come and go to get the food we'd left out, we looked up the names of these pretty common species in the book the site rangers had lent us. Finches and tits for the most part.

Headed off-site for some afternoon indoor activity in Callander, walking up a hill in the pissing rain didn't really appeal to the grown-ups, never mind the younger members of the party.

And, it's only just struck me that the book I started reading was one that I've been meaning to read for years and although it was the Craiglockhart angle that drew me to Pat Barker's Regeneration I must have subconsciously been thinking of PJ Harvey's new World War I themed album (the one that I write about tomorrow having forgotten it was coming out, but I'm writing this as a back-blip so not sure which tense I should be writing in at all right now, bear with me....I'll be reading my war poets all over again soon and it'll just be like English Literature 'O' level all over again, Dulce et Decorum Est and all that).

I digress, no music again today (pile of CDs in the cabin, but nowt to play them on, remember) but I have had this Radiohead track in my head all day for some reason. Like it a lot (have since listened to the album it's from since returning and can heartily recommend, and that's speaking as a one-time Radiohead non-fan in the extreme).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.