Seeing as I am

By seeingasiam

Reflection on Aging

When I can look Life in the eyes,
Grown calm and very coldly wise,
Life will have given me the Truth,
And taken in exchange - my youth.

~Sara Teasdale

Rotten weather again so I decided to practice my still life work :-) I'd had the idea for a few days but it took a few days for the snowdrop to wilt!

It was inspired by me looking in the mirror the other morning and lamenting, 'Good grief, when did that old lady move in!'

Henry replied, 'What old lady?'
and I said, 'Me.'
and he said - not helpfully, 'But mummies are supposed to be old!' Thanks little mate of mine.

Then I was thinking how nice it would be if mirrors reflected the age we feel rather than the age we are...and another blip was born.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.