2011 photo resolution

By karenanya

February Book Group

When you are in two book groups, the meetings seem to come round very quickly. Last night I had to choose which one to go to as both February meetings were scheduled for the same night. As I was due to give the introduction to the book, I chose my original group - we are about to celebrate 10 years of reading together in March.

We choose our reading material from the sets provided by our local library service (save our libraries!). This month's book was a fictional account of the life of Lady Jane Grey by Alison Weir. The book was loved by some and not by others - I think some like their history as facts and not 'faction'. I really enjoyed it and, being a history ignoramous, did not know what happened to her (though I had my suspicions!). Resisting the temptation to google her life story before I got to the end, I found climax of the book a very sad affair.

I managed to let one of my friends in the other book group know how I felt about the other book - The Help. Another great read. I'm hoping to find out what the rest of the group felt about it later.

February was a good book month!

Posting of blip delayed last night as I had to pick up son and husband from the station. They'd made it to London in time to use the tickets for the recording of The Unbelievable Truth. Cracking cast - David Mitchell, Lucy Porter, Jack Dee, Marcus Brigstocke and Alan Davies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.