Baggie Trousers

By SkaBaggie

This Land Is Your Land

Reasonably good news today, as the government's been forced to take an abrupt U-turn over their plans to sell off state-owned forests across the UK. And it only took the lengthy protests of half a million people to affect this change. Makes you wonder what kind of U-turns might be performed on the day the Prime Minister wakes up and discovers there's two and a half million people out there who'd quite like to have jobs.

Anyway, here's an old classic. Originally written by Woody Guthrie, it's updated and shifted to a British perspective here by Billy Bragg.


This land is your land,
This land is my land,
From the coast of Cornwall,
To the Scottish Highlands.
From the sacred forests,
To the holy islands,
This land was made for you and me.

As I walked out through the homeless counties,
The traffic raging all around me.
I closed my eyes and dreamed how it could be,
This land was made for you and me.

This land is your land,
This land is my land,
From the coast of Cornwall,
To the Scottish Highlands.
From the sacred forests,
To the holy islands,
This land was made for you and me.

So I am going, no one can stop me,
Where the wild flowers growing, clean rivers flowing.
Fresh winds are blowing, and the tall trees whispering,
This land was made for you and me.

This land is your land,
This land is my land,
From the coast of Cornwall,
To the Scottish Highlands.
From the sacred forests,
To the holy islands,
This land was made for you and me.

I saw a sign there, when I was walking
And on the sign it said "No Trespassing"
But on the other side, it didn't say nothing
This land was made for you and me.

This land is your land,
This land is my land,
From the coast of Cornwall,
To the Scottish Highlands.
From the sacred forests,
To the holy islands,
This land was made for you and me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.