Skip's Blips

By Skip

Family heirloom

Many years ago, very early in the 20th century, my great-uncle was a missionary in China. He died before I was born, and I know very little of his story, but when he returned from China to his homeland, he brought with him some mementos. This fan was one of them. For a long time, the mementos were stored in the attic of the family home, the same home where I grew up. Eventually my mother rescued it from its hiding place in that attic and had it framed. She hung it on the wall of that same home and later took it along when she and my father moved to an apartment outside Baltimore, Maryland. There it remained until my parents both died. When my sisters and I decided what to do with their home and possessions, this fan came to Ohio and now hangs on my wall. I treasure it and the little bit of its history I know, but, if it could only talk, I am sure it would tell a much richer story.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.