Tonya's Photo Journal

By cameracrazy

Exhibition Day!

Tuesday, February 22nd was the date given to Loren on a piece of paper a couple of weeks ago. This was to be the day he presented his 6th grade Exhibition to the panel of judges at 2:45 PM.

Now fast forwarding a couple weeks to today. I worked in Landon's class as usual on Tuesdays and then said goodbye to Landon as I went out in search of dress clothes for Loren. That's right, nothing like waiting until the last minute. I decide on Ross. Sadly, I find out I'm going to have to get his clothes in the MENS DEPARTMENT! I've been buying his shoes and jackets there for a while now...but never his pants. Time is flying way too fast. I am now shopping in the section where they go by waist size and inseam, yet I have no boy with me to try them on, he's at school. I made my best guesstimate on the pants (Size 30/29) then found a shirt to match. I opted for no tie, but belt shopping was interesting considering he's in between boys and men's waist. Took the advice of the employee, took it home, and they were wrong. Oh well, no belt on Exhibition Day. I didn't cry in the men's aisle, that would have been a little hard to explain. :'(

Ran to pick him up early, head for a haircut, back home to try on the clothes and then BACK to the school with his tri-fold board in hand. Embarrassed him by making him take this picture in front of the college-bound signs at his school. "Mom, people are STILL at the school!!!" Me: "Son, it's not the end of the world that your mom wants a picture of you before your big presentation." I walked him to the room where he was going to be presenting to the judges, said a prayer with him and was off to get Landon and Liam from school. Yet another time when I was supposed to be in two places at once.

Upon my return, I meet him in the multi-purpose room to find out that HE PASSED HIS EXHIBITION!!!!!!!!!!!! This is required at his school to move on to the next grade, and he will be doing this yearly from middle school all the way through high school. Then I set up my mini-homework area for Liam and Landon in the cafeteria while Loren went onto help judge two 7th grade Exhibitions. One at 3:45 and one at 4:15. His brothers beg for candy and treats the seniors are selling for their class, which was a major distraction to homework. That and the other 100 kids in the cafeteria. Their teachers recommend a quite place to do homework. I have yet to find that place with a family on the go. Many times I'm helping with homework on the sidelines of a soccer game, at baseball practice or in the van in between. What am I doing to my poor children!!!!

After Exhibition we hurried over to Loren's first baseball practice. He quickly changed into baseball clothes he had waiting in the van and went outside in the cold, windy day. He missed half of his first practice, but this was such a big day for him! Now we can all breath a sigh of relief!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.