Pax in a Box

By paxinabox

Frankencake

I started rambling about the efforts to make this cake in my post for yesterday. I'm regretting starting such a task and pausing it for two hours, allowing the mixed goodness refrigerate during all that time. I honestly don't know if that's relevant or not. There were a few things I can think of that I wasn't exactly conventional about.

The box said that it would only take 30 minutes or so for the cake to bake. After two hours, the toothpicks still were not coming out clean, so I just gave up. I was supposed to wait for the cake to completely cool before covering it in frosting, but I was up late with this and was tired, so I just put frosting on it, wrapped it, and called it a night.

This morning, I uncover the aluminum foil, and it got too friendly with the burnt center of the cake, which would explain why there is no frosting in the center. My husband and I decided to have cake for breakfast, which would explain why Mickey Mouse is missing an ear (it's my one and only cake pan for the one and only cake I have ever made). Despite its grotesque countenance, it is indeed delicious.

But I will do better next time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.