send me back to the wild!

By davidpritchard

woody the woodlouse

Today I managed to sleep in, so I missed the supposedly heavy frost that we had this morning. The weather for the rest of the day was not exactly conducive, so I grabbed one of the rotting logs from the back garden and decided to try my hand at focus stacking. The basic principle is that you take lots of macro shots, focusing on a different part of your subject in each shot, and then building them together into a single shot, so that your entire subject is in focus. The hardest part is that your subject must not move during the process. But I like a challenge, so I'm going to stick with it for a while. I've seen some really good examples of the technique, and I think that it will be worth the effort if I can get it right. This is just one frame that couldn't be used in a stack, as Woody decided to run off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.