Fishing

Who goes fishing in 35 degree heat?

It's been a month or more since I took the boat out. The recent floods have pushed huge amounts of debris and fresh water into the all the coastal creeks and rivers. It has been at least 3 weeks since we had any worthwhile rain though and I was surprised that there are still branches floating around on the river.

It was way too hot to really enjoy the fishing/boating experience. I suspect the fish had gone to find somewhere cool because they sure weren't biting. On top of all that, squadrons on mosquitoes flew sorties at me whenever I got too close to the mangroves.

I gave up at midday and came home.

On the plus side I did manage to get the horn working on my motorbike this afternoon. The Ducati electrical system is not the finest piece of workmanship ever created. I eventually solved the problem by stuffing the end of a cable tie behind the connection to stop it from moving. Problem solved...for now. While I was there I lowered the front forks to their factory position and made a small adjustment to the handlebars. Tomorrows ride to work will be interesting.

Today was capped off with steak, salad and new potatoes for dinner. The steak was big enough to feed a small country. Dessert was damper scones cooked in the woodfired oven, eaten with butter, blackberry jam and some leftover raspberries. I am now stuffed...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.