On My Doorstep

By bwhere

About Poetry

With exposure to blipping I've realised how poetry can be an important part of one's life without it being directly acknowledged.

For instance, a close friend of mine, from school days, used to be a Poet & Performance Artist (he is in the box above). He has retired from that now but in our regular contact we talk about his poetic achievements a lot. I blipped two of his early works recently, I Say "Yes" and The Count of Savoy but I didn't let on that I knew him.

To this we must add a period in Hull when Philip Larkin was the visible Librarian. Then a sojourn in Edinburgh in the late 1960s and early 1970s when poets were prominent as a fact of everyday life.

For my wife, but not for me, poetry was a part of family life through her father who entertained her and her brothers from an early age with his poetic humour. If you are interested, you can hear her read one of his poems, called Fish & Chips on audioBoo*.

So that is it! Poetry weaves its way into one's life. It also gets an airing here. Even to the extent of keeping one's favourite poet in a matchbox (see image)!

* AudioBoo was recommended to me by another blipper, cullaloe and I joined up immediately.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.