CVB Photos

By cvbphotos

The Whangie

In Sept 2009, I climbed to the top of Ben Lomond. I hadn't done any walking and I had absolutely no idea how big it was. It's a Munroe i.e. fairly substantial and I was on my hands and knees by the time I got to the top. I couldn't walk for a week afterwards.

I have a hankering to do it again this year and as I've been stuck in the house so much recently, it didn't take much to get me out and about again today. This time I thought I'd start the training with The Whangie which is part of the Queens View just north of Glasgow. The interesting features are the large fissures cut into the side of the hill - about two or three feet wide. I took some photos of the fissures but to be honest, they don't seem to be able to convey the scale. Instead I chose one of the rocks that looks across the wider landscape.

At one point, there was a huge boggy puddle in the middle of the path so I took a slightly higher route to avoid it only I slipped on the snow and made a large splosh in the puddle. My boots are drying out and my trousers are in the washing machine!

Anyway - I enjoyed a nice lunch at the Carbeth Inn on the way back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.