CVB Photos

By cvbphotos

The Antonine Wall

I've always loved history programmes on TV - Time Team is a favourite but also Neil Oliver's recent programme about pre-historic Britain. And visits to various places have blown me away - Rome - with the Forum and Colliseum, Pompeii, and surprisingly - Minorca with some unbelievably old archaeology.

Closer to home, Hadrian's wall was really interesting but today I decided that I needed another dose of the Romans and headed off to track down the Antonine Wall - the furthest outpost of the Roman Empire.

It was built in 140AD and ran for about 40 miles across central Scotland. It consisted of a wide deep ditch with a 3-4 metre high rampart behind it on which were placed forts and beacon platforms. The military road ran behind the rampart to ease movement of troops and food. The ditch and ramparts are still easily visible - I always had the impression that the Antonine Wall was a bit wimpy but the earthworks are substantial.

I took several pictures of the full ditch and ramparts which you can see here (as well as a picture of the Wallace Monument when I drove on to Stirling) but for today's blip, I quite liked the out of focus rampart with the spiky tree in the foreground.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.