Wicked day

Cyclops and I decided to take a (very) short break in London, and got an early flight down to London City airport. It worked out really well, we were at our hotel by about 10am then we nipped into Leicester Square to get some theatre tickets before heading to The Big Scuba Show for a few hours.

When we were done we went to the Natural History Museum but it was rammed and there was a queue to get in so we went to the V&A for a cake and a meander. I liked this hall best, it was crammed full of massive sculptures and casts of all sorts of things.

We grabbed a quick dinner and then went to see our show - Wicked. I really enjoyed it, and the more I think about it afterwards the more I loved it. It was very good technically, and well done but I wouldn't say it was a musical full of showstopping tunes. However, it was a wonderful story. For those not aware, it is a prequel to the Wizard of Oz telling the backstory of the witches. It was very clever how it told the original story from a very different perspective and wove it all together without any retelling. It was a good thought provoking moral tale of the nature of good and evil.

Plus as a newly self employed person the lyrics of the big end of first half song felt very relevent to me:

Something has changed within me
Something is not the same
I'm through with playing by the rules
Of someone else's game
Too late for second-guessing
Too late to go back to sleep
It's time to trust my instincts
Close my eyes: and leap!

It's time to try
Defying gravity
I think I'll try
Defying gravity
And you can't pull me down!

And if I'm flying solo
At least I'm flying free
To those who'd ground me
Take a message back from me

Tell them how I am
Defying gravity
I'm flying high
Defying gravity
And soon I'll match them in renown

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.