jeni and the beans

By themessymama

The firebox house

Sorry - no picture of Ben today from me! But there is one over on Ste's Blips instead. (And another one back-blipped from him as well.)

Today was Work day. But before that, it was breakfast.

You'd think breakfast would be fairly simple really.

But no: frosties and peach yoghurt = No.
However: weetos meteors and balance and cherry yoghurt = Yes.

Eventually we got out and I dropped Ben off at Libby and Nat's house. (It's incredible the difference between dropping him off there and dropping him off at preschool...) and off I tootled to work. And got stuck behind a van doing less than 30mph on the lane I usually shoot along at 60mph.

But work was ok, the delicate negotiations regarding ownership of a website I have created have begun, I think I need somebody who knows what they are talking about to help me draw up a contract really. And no more wages for me to do! Hurrah. But better still, I'm still getting a fair bit of design work my way as usual. All good. If delicate.

Back via Sainsburys. Got the car washed, went and sat in the cafe for the duration. Amazing how when you have little money and even less time on your own, a brief sit down in a cafe (even a supermarket one) with a bowl of soup (that had bits in and which therefore Ben would not have liked) and a cake (which had fruit in and which therefore Ben would not have liked) can be the most wonderful treat.

I remain a very cheap date ;)

And then, going back to the car, the guy who'd washed it spotted me and came over. I though he was just going to ask for payment but no - when I unlocked the car, he opened each door in turn, and the boot, and cleaned all round the inside edges too! Over and above what he was expected to do, over and above what I was expecting. He got a good tip for that. I was so pleased. (Maybe he just felt sorry for the car, which I don't think had been washed since my trip to Manchester and back in December when I got caught in all the blizzards!!)

Ben was totally unfazed to see me when I eventually turned up at Libby's. But as he was tired I stayed just long enough for a cup of tea, and then we went home. Thinking he'd probably have a sleep.

But no, we cuddled up on the sofa for a boobie cuddle, and presently he announced that he'd finished and up he got and carried on playing! Of course as a result he was knackered by 7pm so he's had an early night, and I will be turning in shortly too.

But in the meantime I have been having a bit of fun creating a doll's house for Ben. He seems to be quite interested in the playhouses at the various toddler groups we go to, so I thought I'd make one and see what he makes of it. It may be costing a fair bit in time but not in materials. And I'm enjoying myself - and I'm going to have to steel myself to not get too precious about it but count it as experience for building the next - better, more robust - one.

Bedroom is decorated and it has a bed. The bed needs some sheets really. And the dresser needs covering and painting.

Living room is a bit sparce still. Awaiting some carpet from the lovely dogwithnobrain, and then I can choose some wallpaper ;) It's progressing faster than our own house, that's for sure. Table's made, sofa needs a bit of work but it's getting there.

Just need some little people to inhabit it now.

Who knows.

There may be a family of Borrowers looking for a new home.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.