PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

Look. And Look Again.

These garden primroses so strongly caught my eye, that it was only when I looked at the photo that I spotted three little snowdrops pushing their heads into the picture, begging to be enjoyed too. (Yellow and white is my favourite colour combination, so they are the icing on the cake.)

It's just over a month since the first primrose came into bloom in our garden, a pin-eyed primrose. These are bigger and have the extra confidence of another month's growth and warmer air but, as far as I know, these are actually the thrum-eyed primrose. (Do let me know if I'm wrong.) They are a deeper yellow, slightly larger, and have a bunch of yellow anthers in the centre, rather than the single, greenish centre. They are all part of the same family.

The snowdrops aren't related they're just close friends (or nosy neighbours?) - nah! - close friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.