nogbad's blips

By nogbad

Gas Street Basin

Nice walk this morning before a day-long meeting. I took plenty of photos but I'm just home and I need more tea and then sleep; I'll sort out the rest of the shots later and Flickr them.

Anyways - About 30 years ago I remember hunting down the Gas Street basin and we had to slip through some hoardings to see a run-down decrepit area. Of course the whole canal area through the centre of Birmingham has undergone a dramatic regeneration and for the last decade or more it's attracted swanky pubs and bars. This basin was the junction between two canals and to stop them sharing water; a scarce resource for the Birmingham canals because Brum sits on a plateau, the Worcester Bar runs through the middle of the basin. Goods to be shipped from the Worcester and Birmingham Canal to the Birmingham Canal Navigations and vice versa had to be passed across the bar from one boat to another.

I've always been fascinated by canals and I can drone on about them for hours and hours............

We've nearly got Tuesday beat - lets sort out Wednesday!

This baby does big - big style!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.