Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

An Event For Gabby

A week before election day.  This was the last time I saw my friend Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords

I hosted one of her very last fundraisers before her close election for a third term in Congress.  She called to thank me on November 1, the day before the election, leaving a voice message on my phone describing her feelings about being in such a close race.

I still have the message. I'm keeping it until I can hear her speak in her own voice again to her supporters and friends (update June 2015: I lost the message with my phone upgrade.)  After the assassination attempt which sent a bullet through her brain, she remains in a rehabilitation facility in Houston and recently spoke her first words, asking for toast. She also reportedly sang a few bars of Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star...

Gabby Giffords continues to inspire.

-posted and written on 2/22/11

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.