While on my runs

By waipushrink

High tide in Cox's Bay

After spending hours watching the telecasts from Christchurch yesterday afternoon and evening, and willing that no one had died we went sadly to bed. I have discovered that no one I know has come to any physical harm, although property damage is widespread.

This morning I had no desire to go out in the minimal rain we had, so had a mid day run, which coincided with high tide on the Waitemata. High tide showed off the boats moored in Cox's Bay very well. A bit of sun had shown almost until I got there; when taking this, the sky was completely grey again.

I love the big yellow yacht. Not being a sailor (even amateur) I cannot tell you what sort of yacht it is. It just looks nice.

Otherwise a day on reports and letters.

A later addition. After a day of desperate normality, just reports and stuff, I have again focussed on Christchurch and feel once more the pain (albeit many times removed) of the poor people of Christchurch. I have the luxury of distraction that works in it's way. They have nothing but themselves and their families and friends. The hopeful thing is that this is what will help them survive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.