While on my runs

By waipushrink

Nature's grandeur

While on my run this morning I tried to get something worth showing to someone other than myself, and failed. Overcast conditions. Lack of inspiration. Only yet another shot of the Skytower was faintly presentable, but repetitious.

This evening I allowed myself to be distracted from the telecasts from Christchurch as the sun "fell below the horizon". Still a lot of cloud about and no grand sunsets. However, I did like this one which combines a gloomy, grey, and threatening cloud cover with the bright shafts of sunlight offering some beauty, lighting up the Waitakere Range in the distance, the western suburbs at their base; the closer western city fringe area, near to where I stay, is in early evening shadow.

The wooded area in the right midground is part of the Auckland Zoo. The bright light is not reflected sunlight; it is the lighting around a petrol station at Point Chevalier.

Despite the appearance this is colour and unaltered from the camera.

Thank you on behalf of my fellow New Zealanders to all those who have felt and expressed feelings of sadness and support for the people of Christchurch. It is greatly appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.