jeni and the beans

By themessymama

Drummin'

Think it may well be the start of a series. *shock* Couple more here. Couldn't pick between today's three. I am fairly certain I will get plenty more opportunities to photograph Ben and his drums from every conceivable angle over the coming days.


Operation Drum Hospital was a huge success last night. Three drums re-skinned (using a mixture of freezer bags and gaffer tape), two drumsticks given padded ends, one cymbal stand doctored so the cymbal doesn't fall down every third hit. The skins have survived so far. And Ben hasn't gone easy on them either.

And the newly-padded drumsticks, together with the gaffer-tape skins, means that the overall noise level isn't as tremendous as it was yesterday!

Either that or I am going slightly deaf because of it all.

I have therefore spent a good proportion of my morning in the kitchen escaping the noise, only to be called back every five minutes because the bit stopping the cymbal flying OFF its stand keeps popping off with Ben's happy drumming; and then at one point Ben had the cheek to come into the kitchen with his hands over his ears - having stopped drumming to do so - complaining that I was being too loud!! I was using a food processor!!!!


My red carpet from dogwithnobrain arrived in the post this morning. I was totally flummoxed when the delivery man knocked on the door because I had no recollection of ordering anything!! But when I spotted where it had been posted from it suddenly dawned on me :) So now the dolls house has a gorgeous red carpet! I need to paint the floorboards underneath it (need to dig out some nice dark brown paint for that), and then I can glue it in place. And then it's a case of choosing wallpaper wrapping paper! Or wrapping paper wallpaper, whichever way round it ought to go... I'm thinking... cream with some kind of floral design.

Ben's little digger man has investigated the house this morning: he has had a snooze on the bed, a sit at the table and a lounge on the sofa. Then he went for a fly in a plane, I am not entirely sure when he is now - maybe sunning himself on some beach. Good luck to him getting home, I think I can see one of the wings from the plane on the floor. I did take some pictures but they were pretty bad and Ben kept getting in the way so I might have to do some happily staged shots later ;) Here's one from earlier, but this is before the carpet arrived.


The rain is incessant. Ben went out into the garden earlier when it was only a drizzle, but gave up when it started pouring down... He made a valiant attempt at brushing the water off the slide... We need to go to the camera shop later, so I hope the rain eases off a bit :( I dislike rain, especially as I still can't find my hat!


And, thankyou Auntie Ruth for the teeshirt! Ben was a bit excited (ok that's a bit of an understatement) when a shiny red bubble wrap parcel dropped through the letterbox!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.