Mission Achieved!

I had 3 dives to complete today which if I passed then I would become a PADI Advanced Open Water Diver!

The day started well, I got up feeling great, really ready and up for completing the days dives. We headed to the harbour and onto Obiwan.

The first dive it was just me and my instructor Pete and I completed my first 30 metre dive and it felt great! I had taken my underwater housing down with a piece of tissue in it to check there were no leaks. Getting to 30m was a real milestone and confidence boost and with it other things clicked into place. My safety stop went like a dream and I had been worried about them (you have to stop at 5 metres for 3 minutes before making a full ascent back to the surface, if you don't you risk causing yourself a lot of grief!). The aquatic life was just amazing I had been waiting to see all of this for a long time here in Egypt and it didn't disappoint, far better than my shore dives of a Monday.

We got back on to the boat and had our necessary surface interval before jumping in for our 2nd dive.

The 2nd dive I did my descent and the plan was to do a multi level dive of 10 minutes at 25m, 10 at 16m and the rest at about 10m... however after a short while of being at 25 metres swimming along I started with Nitrogen Narcosis, interesting experience... I can do without it affecting my breathing rate I became a right gas guzzler! Thankfully I did all the right things and notified Pete that all was not well and he recognised that straight away what the problem was... so we ascended to 16m and after a few minutes all was rosey again! Phew! My first forray with Nitrogen Narcosis... I am glad in a way as now I know what to recognise and know that I can do something about it. I had my camera with me on this occasion and was snapping away which was really cool. Hit my safety stop, spot on again... very happy!

Back on the boat it was time for a good lenthy surface stop, including lunch before our final dive.

The final dive started with a bit of a wobble, I think I still feeling a bit narc'ed even though I was only at about 12m. Going through my head at the time was I just wanted to get to 20 minutes and then do my safety stop and out and finish for the day. I didn't feel that I needed to do the dive although I did to complete my AOW. Pete was a star again and guided me through it all with such confidence, patience and understanding. The aquatic life was amazing but I didn't feel I enjoyed the dive as much as the other too. I was quite tired. I came to the conclusion that 2 dives really are better than 3!

I got some great photos on the last dive though.

Once back on the boat, a caffeine hit and change into dry clothing we went through the theory side of my course and thankfully I passed all that with flying colours which I was happy about.

The boat by now nearing the harbour and the minibus was waiting for us to return us back to the hotel/ centre.

It was a fantastic day and I learnt so so much. I know that I can do my safety stops with confidence, my bouancy is improving no end. I still need to grow in confidence but that will come with the more dives I do. 2 dives a day will be my limit for now and ever! The aquatic life was awesome, I got biffed by Nemo! But most of all... I passed my Advanced Open Water course! So chuffed to bits!!

I have a number of photos I could have used today and I will over the next few day put some in my blipfolio, but I feel that todays blip has to be of Pete my instructor who really is my hero for the day! He has been brilliant and given me a lot of belief and confidence and brought me on in my diving in leaps and bounds.

Thanks Pete and Oonas Dive Club Naama Bay, Sharm el Sheikh!! (most definite plug there!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.