cracker

By cracker

Fire!

I have had a busy day at work today! We had a reported smell of fire in a bedroom this morning which turned out to be a false alarm, then a car fire where the car was fully on fire on the road, luckily the guy was out of the car. Just to make it a bit more interesting, the car was on gas! No-one hurt though except the car is ruined!

We went out and got lunch and then this afternoon at about 5.30pm we had a second alarm house fire! We were first on scene so I got the hose reel off the truck and started putting water on the fire, other trucks arrived and worked on the other side of the house. I had to move from where I was when there were roof tiles getting blown off the roof with the hose from the guys on the other side of the house! Went around the back with the hose reel and then the Teleboom (a truck with a big ladder on the top that lifts up and can spray water on the fire from the top of the ladder without anyone needing to be there) started spraying water on the house but ended up spraying us with the roof tiles as well!

The house was well alight when we got there and was pretty much ruined after we put the fire out. Not much we could do to save it. Luckily no-one was inside.

We didn't end up getting back to station until 7.40pm and we are meant to finish at 6pm! Kaz had gone into the city this afternoon to stay with a friend as she has a conference for the next three days. She dropped Spence off at Tarsh's house at 5pm and I was to pick him up after work, about 7pm! I didn't get there until nearly 9pm, luckily he was fine and Tarsh didn't mind! He had a great time playing with Ethan and Laura.

I am exhausted now! Spence and I will have a cruisy day tomorrow hopefully and then Cheryl is coming in the afternoon to stay with Spence until Sunday when I get home from night shift. I am working the next two nights.

This is a photo of the car that caught on fire this morning. I took it on my iPhone and have tone mapped it in Photomatix 4 to make it a bit more interesting!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.