wildinlailand

By wildinlailand

Broken Spectre-A self portrait

Mrs Wild let me out on my own today. She and the lads went ten pin bowling, I went mountain climbing. I was undecided where to go in Lake District and only decided on my breaking descent of the Kendal bypass. It was toss up between Kentmere Horseshoe or Helvellyn. It looked brighter further north so I went to patterale for Helvellyn via Striding Edge. For you solid geographers Striding Edge is a glacial arete and the mountain has classic glacial features, aretes, saddles, cwms, morainne, cwm lake. I took all my winter metalwork safety gear on the strength of the national park forecast and snow conditions to say it was grossly exaggerated would be an understatement. Striding Edge was a bit of a challenge in the gusting wind but sadly no spectacular shots because of the swirling mist which enveloped the high summit all day. The shot is of a rare mountain phenomena called a Broken Spectre. It is caused by waterdroplets in the mist splitting the suns rays and forming a rainbow halo around your shadow. Usually occurs when the sun is low in the sky in winter and on exposed ridges. It is a bizzare feeling to walk with your shadow suspended in mid air with an angelic halo all around your body. It was difficult to shoot because the camera AF had nothing to focus on so it was a manual focus effort. It wasn't until I got home that I realised the extent of the colours.

Time for a bit of a rant. I went all prepared today for a winter mountain walk, all my usual warm gear plus my small storm shelter. It really hacks me off that some walkers go ill prepared for the hills. Okay an ice axe etc wasn't necessary today but I have seen a variety of footwear today completely unsuitable for the hills plus what do people carry in rucsacs no bigger than a large hand bag? There have been a number of people that have asked me today if they were heading in the right direction for the summit in the mist, I am very familiar with Helvellyn but still got my compass out to get on the right path. Two people have died on Helvellyn this winter. Please treat the mountains with the respect they deserve.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.