Buddy Yamaha

By richie_rollover

Diminishing daily

Not many left now, although frankly I'm amazed I have managed to make them last this long. Jelly Bellys are my favourite sweet and I generally only get them at Christmas.

Fortunately they now seem to be Maddy's favourite sweet too.

We had a friend out to stay last night and Roz cooked Spag Bog. She decided to try some tips from the Heston Blumenthal book. She didn't follow his recipie to the letter, in part because he used minced oxtail and diced pork shoulder, but also because it took eight hours to cook. But she cherry picked bits from it, such as using a soffrito for the sauce base. The net result was that it tasted amazing. Best Bolognaise she has ever made.

For my part I had to trek round Edinburgh in search of either Pasta di Aldo or Rustichella d'Abbruzzo spaghetti. Valvonas didn't have the former like I thought they would, but Harvey Nicks had the Rustichella stuff. I have to say I never thought there could be so much difference in quality of pasta, but it was fantastic stuff, even better than fresh pasta. We'll definetely be stocking up on that for future dinners.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.