Through my lens, Willis

By Willis

Old Batteries

It's a dirty, thankless job but somebody has to do it. Taking the batteries to the recycling center.

Great Thursday everyone.

Enlarge

Had this in the can 4 hours earlier but work interceded...


Caution Tech Stuff:


Today's stage is a piece of black velvet for the background and some black cloth on the bottom with a sheet of glass on it. I positioned a bunch of old batteries on the glass really nicely until one fell over and preceded to domino the rest. That was frustrating. I took several shots playing with the lighting and changing the camera height. Then I took several shots of one lone battery to be cutout and placed into my arms. Speaking of arms that was next on the shooting schedule. After dawning one of my favorite lab coats I posed in front of a white background.

In Photoshop I knocked myself out from my white background using a mask. Then I did the same for the lone battery. I place and re-sized the battery into my arms. I erased, using an additional mask part of the battery where my hands are so it looks like they are around the outside. Now I added the combination of me and the battery and placed it into the scene by resizing. We're standing on some glass so we need a reflection. I copied the 2 layers of myself and the battery, flip them upside down, crush them a bit and change the opacity slightly.

Finals touches are to pull a like-able crop, adjust some of the color balance, add some extra sharpness and we're ready to take our used batteries to the recycling center. Enjoy?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.