Stained Glass Detail XI

Yes kids, it's John the Baptist. I, for one, prefer the image of him baptizing Jesus in the Jordan or leaping in Elizabeth's womb at the presence of the Savior. But, here he is in an obscure stained glass window in our church, his head on a platter. (see Mk 6:14-29) This window is in a stairway rarely seen by any other than the choir.

I have taken on the task of photographing all of the stained glass windows in our church, to help catalog them for a project through Michigan State University (my alma mater). The Museum, on the campus in East Lansing hosts a website featuring stained glass throughout the state of Michigan. Because of blip I already have quite a few shots. I hope to be updating the flickr set soon so stop back and look for a link.

The weatherman is threatening more snow tonight. I'm skeptical.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.