Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

"Every Little Step"

The music from A Chorus Line has always been a favorite of mine and the storyline has too. So when we were recently in the Blockbuster DVD Rental store, I wandered through the concert section looking for something interesting and pretty soon found myself looking at documentaries. We exited after renting two DVDs, each 99 cents for 3-nights. I'm sure Mr. Fun thought I was crazy because we had two documentaries in my hand.

Every Little Step is the back story that birthed A Chorus Line. It was fabulous, but I am concerned someone will take my recommendation and get the DVD and not agree at all, but Mr. Fun liked it too, so I think that seconds the vote. You'll have to understand that I absolutely love stories, especially biographies . . . real life is better than fiction any day (at least in my opinion).

So this evening as we were driving back to Blockbuster to return this DVD, I thought . . . well, I actually thought that I'd like to just purchase this one and use it in my repertoire of instructor videos . . . because it is about young people who want something so badly. I know they are dancers not students, but more than anything I want my students to really want something . . . to want their future so badly that they are passionate for it . . . even if they don't know what it is in the future they want to do.

Maybe I love A Chorus Line so much because it came across the screen of my life when I was lining-up to become a community college professor and everyone was telling me I'd never get the job . . . I'd be competing with others who had years of teaching experience and I didn't. They told me that possibly my goals were too high. I knew, however, what I wanted to do. I had a Plan B because I'm to practical not to have had one, but Plan B was not even a consideration. I had spent six years of my life preparing academically for Plan A.

In Every Little Step the story is about people who want something desperately. Many of them have spent their lives preparing and planning to be dancers. I thoroughly enjoyed this documentary. I absolutely love the music . . . "What I Did for Love," "One - (Finale)." So, I couldn't return it without recording the memory of a fabulous viewing moment by taking a quick photo, even a crummy photo, but hey, it's not about the photo.

On another note, this morning I had a great time with two classes. Yes, I'm tired, and this evening is "date night" here at "Funville." So we decided to return the two DVD documentaries and get a couple more DVDs to watch and we did. Now that we are home, our big screen TV just gave-up the ability to show the picture. Boo Hoo! We've been talking for a long time about buying a flat screen to mount on the wall, so I guess the time has arrived.

We've had a good "date night" in spite of the TV giving up its ability to broadcast!

Thanks for all your comments on yesterday's bottle brush. I really think it is a beautiful little flower.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.