Sasseymills

By sasseymills

Tasty even without the onions

Don't you just hate it when you're in the grocery store standing there trying to remember what all it was you needed to pick up. I'm horrible for never keeping an ongoing list on the fridge. Probably more because I have one of those useless mini fridges that stands as high as my knees so it's not like the list is staring me in the face when I close the door.

Anyway, I'm in the shop in the vegetable section mentally working out what I have at home vs what I need. I always have onions on hand and as I looked at them and even went to the point of holding one in my hand just in case I then put it down thinking I'm sure I've still got one left.

Home in the kitchen chopping up the bok choy, courgette and tomato I then walk over to the bowl that I store my onions, shallots and garlic in only to discover I HAVE NO ONION!!! How is this possible, I always have onions!

Looking back at my cutting board with all the other ingrediants already chopped and sitting in their little mounds I am at the point of no return. I can honestly say I have never made a stir fry without an onior or at least a shallot. This is uncharted territory for me.

Reaching for the garlic I put in an extra dose to the heating oil and begin.

It wasn't half bad :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.