Sasseymills

By sasseymills

Play Things

or why you don't see me posting every day.

I rediscovered my love of film autumn 2009 when I purchased a pre 1930's old Ensign popular folding camera, a 1972 Zorki 4 and a 1964 Yashica minister-D all in the space of a few months. I also picked up an old Gossen light meter and spent a sunny afternoon in Vancouver shooting my first roll of Ilford FP4 Plus basically winging it.

I was overthinking everything, exposure, shutter speed, composition but I did shoot the entire roll in one day. When I got the developed film back from the lab I was more than pleasantly surprised that the entire roll wasn't rubbish and discovered how forgiving film really is.

And thus began the love affair.

I still collect vintage cameras and enjoy running that first test roll through to see if it works and how it captures a scene. I do find they each have their own personality. That is even more true for film itself.

So these days I find myself shooting more film than digital, and I tend to store up the rolls until I have 4 or 5 before taking them into the lab for developing/scanning. Which is why you see these massive gaps in my calendar. They will get populated eventually as I get the rolls back.

Thank you for your patience.

That is all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.