Sasseymills

By sasseymills

The start of a new era?

Went to the shops today to look for some replacement sneakers after the death of my magic shoes (may they rest in peace). I was once again reminded why I don't go shopping very often. I cannot handle the crowds and the noise.

Standing in the corner of a shoe store, constantly getting jostled as people try to squeeze past as there is hardly 1 body width between the wall displaying the shoes and the seats for people to sit on to try them on. Or if you're like me and have freakishly tiny feet and can't try on the display shoe because it's too large then you have to wait, and wait and wait until you can even manage to make eye contact with someone you hope actually works there.

And did I mention the loud music playing? With that going on, the people in the shop then need to speak loudly to be heard which just adds further to the noise, noise, noise! (to quote the Grinch).

I just wanted to get out of there so fast but was in dire need of footwear so I just grinned and bared it.

Once done I thought I'd pop into another shop to get a few long sleeved t-shirts as most of what I have in my wardrobe pre-dates my ancestry visa. Same story as above, loud, crowded and this time add in poor lighting and stock messily strewn about the place.

I can see the attraction of on-line shopping. However, one still needs to brave the physical store to determine size and fit.

I still need the t-shirts, but they will have to wait until I can muster up the courage to go through all that again.

I spend a wee while at the Barony for a pint and some chips to recover and lick my wounds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.