Blowing the cobwebs off

After the awards night last night, or more specifically the reasonable quantity of red wine drunk at the awards night, I thoiught a bike ride was in order when I got up today, so after coffee, berocca and a couple of rounds of toast I got the bike out the garage.

It was my first outing on it this year. Not out of laziness, more down to the fact that it's a steel frame and since it's not paid off until April I was very wary about taking it out of salt covered winter roads.

I only did an easy ten miles up to Newbridge and back as my knee was giving me a wee bit of bother, but I did try to do it with minimal gear changes to get a bit of a workout.

I thoroughly enjoyed it so, assuming there isn't a sudden cold snap, the plan is to start getting out regularly again.

Given that the bike was spotless after it's winter layaway and I was mainly on roads or proper paths there was a reasonably satisfying amount of crud on the bike after my run.

The trip to the spa after the ride was quite satisfying too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.