Dave's Views

By davethespoon

Scrambling Up Glyder Fach

It was the second day of our winter skills course (see my back blip about this for yesterday) and we completed a journey across the Welsh mountains in conditions we wouldn't usually have walked in. And excellent fun it was too!

Here the team is scrambling towards the ridge near Glyder Fach and Robin has turned around to tell me there's a break in the clouds and a bit of view to be seen. However I was too slow on the camera and having problems using it with thick winter gloves on to take advantage of the that moment, but I do like this shot that shows what conditions were like today. Much of the time over 700m was in cloud with some fresh snow from last night covering the rocks. Not as much as we hoped for but enough low visibility and obscured features to allow us to practice winter navigation a little.

A thoroughly enjoyable weekend and we'll be heading for the hills again soon.
---------------------------------
This is my 100th blip. Didn't quite manage every day as I missed Friday in order to be able to blip today rather back blip my 100th. I don't plan to blip everyday from now on as some days I find it a chore and want it to be a joy. I will be taking a lot more photographs this year than last and I really appreciate the comments on this blip and the fact that having to produce a photo every day has made me work on taking pictures in all types of light conditions where I'd not previously have bothered. Often the results have been a pleasant surprise.

A bit like learning to hill walk in difficult conditions, sometimes photography in difficult conditions and yield the most pleasurable results.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.