MM175 Results

I want to thank everyone who has participated this past month. The process of hosting MonoMonday has been difficult but very rewarding.  You have given me peeks into your personal lives and you have shared very emotional stories.  I have met your favorite pets and the visitors to your bird feeders.  I have accompanied you on your lunch break and your errands around town, and I have participated to bring the livestock back into the fold.  I have visited your flower garden and the local parks. I have met your spouses, children, grandchildren and friends. You invited me into your home. I walked on your One Street. 

For someone who considers himself quiet and introspective, it has been an enormous effort to reach out to visit with everyone – if only by a few words. What an incredible responsibility and honor to look at your pictures – to look at them not only as I would, but also through your eyes.  I think that has been the most humbling part of the experience. I appreciate everyone who has subscribed to my journal this month and I apologize if I haven’t gotten around to personally thank you yet. I will.

I also appreciate all of your positive feedback on the challenges.  Will I do it again? Probably! I can see why people volunteer regularly for the privilege. I would encourage anybody who wants to raise the bar a little on his or her game to go for it. Not only to give something back to the Blip community, but also to experience photography again as a newbie.  I felt very awkward at the beginning to comment on your photos and maybe it is a bit easier now. I started a process and then improved upon it each week. I did come across quite a few Back Blips and missing tags.  I apologize if I missed your entry.

Many commented that the themes were too hard.  Many commented that the themes were great and pushed you out of your comfort zone.  Many appreciated the effort to concentrate on the approach to the camera and taking a picture.  Many appreciated the introspective of the highlighted photographers each week… Arthur “WeeGee” Fellig, Robert Doisneau, Tomas Van Houtryve, Joel Meyerowitz and Henri Cartier-Bresson. Whichever way it was for you, thanks again for giving me the chance.

Having opened the confines of the challenge MM175 Defining The Moment ALT Ephemeral to anything art worthy (which is of course very subjective!), there were many creative and interesting entries... I have decided to give hearts to what I consider 5 different interpretations of Defining The Moment or Ephemeral – each interesting and with its own merit.

Here are my favorites:

Tiebreaker – WOW, this photo may or may not tick the boxes for everyone, but for me it exemplifies HCB’s “The Defining Moment”.  Without reading the backstory, this photo is easily approachable, it tells an intimate story of an artisan at his trade, the proportions are just great and drawing a nice tension across the entire frame. Tiebreaker had a clear idea for his photo and then waited for the photo to come into being. Super!

isbi – I wish I could make such a wonderful portrait! It takes great skill to pull together such a convincing expression and naturalness and to snap the picture at the precise moment. The subject is well isolated from the background. I don’t know who said that a great headshot has to cut off the top of the head… but it works. :)

kayakgirl -  catching a tender moment while showing the bigger picture with tremendous depth.  This could be one of those motivational posters. :) Son, “the road ahead seems so distant and uncertain” Father, “I know.”

MurielSpark – closer to my style of making a candid shot of the world as it passes by. There was a plan to this picture having visited the location prior and I think it works marvelously.

Ingeborg – I had never associated Ephemeral with flowers, dandelions and other plants. I was surprised with the number of entries per this interpretation.  Great!  I somehow identify most with this photo of the snow peas. The spurt of growth taking these seedlings into the air…  Such a beautiful phase of life, leaving the safety of our seedlings and bursting with life upon the world.

Honorable mentions (in no particular order):

chrissel – the promise of the future generation of photographers!

V1k1 – another inspirational photo. I’ll say it again, easily approachable, great proportions, an appealing tension across the frame… beautiful.

Riwaka7 – patience or luck? That’s what I love about this picture. All the ‘ducks’ are in a row.

SecondSeason – very cinematic, dark and brooding. Yet a stillness that is neither frightening nor disturbing.

Miranda1008 – proportions, timing and luck! Great job being in the moment and instinctive reflexes.

KangaZu – in such an uncertain moment of history, a lot of us still hold true to our ideas of patriotism. Let’s hope we can come together for all of humanity.

So! There you have it! Now I can take a big rest… Good luck to our returning host Dollykgray for the month of June and starting with MM176.  I can’t wait to see what is in store?!

Happy blipping

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.