Waiting for Jonny

By yearofhappy

Ribbons and Metal

It's after eleven at night, the house looks like Ghengis Khan has paid us a visit and have I started on any essential jobs yet? What do you think? Have I, on the other hand ,spent over an hour trying to perfect a pose for Blip, decided I liked an astounding 0 % of the photos I took and then found myself having to start over again.. erm that would be an emphatic housework avoidance style "yes" then!

In all honesty I took a photo of something at work today that made me smile but decided against blipping it as it would have potentially caused some tricky religious debate that could have forced my account to close!! I don't know any of you that well yet ( note to self, this is BipLand not real life, you don't know most of them, they are people whose lives you stalk via photos!) so had to chose a safe topic.

I wanted to do something about fitness after having had a brilliant training run tonight. I know, I know ,I am a fitness freak but it's me and I can't apologise for my " me "ness ( she says doing exactly that by not posting the work shot). I tried for an hour to get a shadow shot of my running shoes: net effect was that it looked like an elephant had grabbed a tin of grey paint and thrown it randomly at a wall.

These are my ribbons and metal: some of my medals from my races and they are all special to me as they are a result of hard work.
I have never won a race but I always try hard and set myself harder goals and harder races every year and I manage them all. I can remember every race I have run and how they all felt ( bloody knackering mainly ). I remember how it feels to be at the start line on a Sunday morning when all sane people are in bed asleep , adrenaline pumping and making sure you have just "one last wee "before the gun goes. I set off knowing I look like Dame Kelly Holmes
( ok in my imagination I do ).I know how it feels half way round when you have to dig deep and ignore your lazy git voices in your head that try and tell you to stop. I know how it feels to run that last 100m to the glorious finish line and putting in a sprint finish with energy that has appeared by the Miracle Fairy. Then it's over and you get a medal, a tshirt and some terrible sugar free sweets that no one ever eats, but most of all you get satisfaction.

I love running. It keeps me mentally and physically strong . I should not be here ( I don't mean on Blip at nearly eleven o clock at night, I mean that I almost died three years ago) and running is my way of being grateful to my body for surviving. Anything is possible if you tell yourself you can do it.
I evangelise about fitness.
I am just a little ( running ) crazy
Good night and I hope you've all had a good one.
x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.